Our worlds have officially collided…..

It seems as if the influence of Black music holds no bounds.  Artists are being so influenced by a particular song that they create their own rendition. It’s almost like de ja vu of the early days of music with first half of the 1900s when black musicians would hear a different version of their track on the radio almost erasing their contribution.  I digress however, because the music industry today is so different at least these artists are giving credit where credit is due.

Baltimore band, Beach House consisting of duo French-born Victoria Legrand and Baltimore native Alex Scally, did their own rendtion of Gucci Mane’s “Lemonade” at this year’s Coachella music festival.

The NYC band, Francis and the Lights was impressed by Kanye West’s “Can’t Tell Me Nothing”  that they did their own version.

Raspy voiced, Detroit singer, Mike Posner took Beyonce’s classic song, “Halo” by creating an uptempo version that does get a few spins in my book.

According to this singer, Mar, “I grew up with so many different music genres. With my dad as a professional musician and mom literally starting and ending days with the radio as her bible, I got exposed to music as a whole package. With this as the foundation of Mar Variations, I can take any joint or lyric and flip it the way I would love to hear it.” He decided to take Lil Wayne’s song “Single” and smacked it, flipped it and rubbed it down.  I’m not sure how I feel about this one because I never really liked r&b songs using so much slang making it a dated piece of work.  This track has so much soul that my vote hasn’t been cast on whether or not I’m feeling it. You decide…

Electronic soul duo, Quadron made up of Coco and Robin Hannibul (Owusu & Hannibal) who are all the buzz on the underground music scene.  I totally approve of this remake of Michael Jackson’s “Baby Be Mine”.

Leave a Reply

