Artist to Watch – Tinashe

I was put on to Tinashe a few months back and was captured by his raspy voice and profound lyrics.  It’s a new day in the music industry with the influx of African and UK artists, which Tinashe is both.  Here is an excerpt from his bio posted on his Myspace page.

“I was originally shipped over from Zimbabwe so I could eventually grow to become a doctor/lawyer and wire money back home via Western Union, that didn’t go so well… I blame/thank MJ.

I smiled & nodded to avoid bullying over my African accent at school until the Eastenders elocution lessons started to pay off… I can now slip in between both rather seamlessly… I grew up in Hackney. I will always be a Hackney boy but I’m enjoying being in a state of flux. Life is bigger than London.”

I actually prefer his acoustic music as a opposed to his pop tracks.  Below are two types of songs from Tinashe and you decide, which version of this amazing artist you prefer.

2 thoughts on “Artist to Watch – Tinashe

    • No I haven’t really found another artist similar to him. I guess that’s what makes him so special. It seems as if artists of the African diaspora are really making themselves known in the music industry. Check some of the other posts, there are phenomenal artists here.

Leave a Reply

