Another video from BlacRoc.com

I’m not sure how I feel about this whole project.  First off, I like the Black Keys, they’re cool.  Secondly, I’m not too hot on Dame Dash, who is spearheading this project.  Thirdly, I definitely find him suspect if he has ig’nant ass Jim Jones on the project.  Also for them to call it Blac Rock is to imply that we are creating something that was started by White people.  Now I’m down with my white brothers and sisters but we need to stop spreading misinformation.  There are so many rock pioneers that are black don’t get credit ie Chuck Berry, Bad Brains, Bo Diddly and many other that started out with Blues and Punk Rock.   Do you really think Elvis started a lot of this shit?  Do you think he was born knowing how to shake his hips.  Like Chuck D. said in the “Fight the Power” :

Elvis was a hero to most
But he never meant shit to me you see
Straight up racist that sucker was
Simple and plain
Motherf— him and John Wayne

So with all this personal turmoil that I and a few of my peers possess around this topic here is one of the latest videos from the project.  Hopefully when this catches on to the masses,  I won’t have to be tortured with Nelly’s “black rock experience” or anymore of Lil’ Wayne playing the electric guitar.  Remember, Shop Boyz  “Party Like a Rock Star?” Uggh!

2 thoughts on “Another video from BlacRoc.com

  1. Although I respect your views on the Black Keys, Dame, and Jim Jones I gotta disagree with you whole Elvis perspective. I mean you said you wanna stop people from spreading mis-information then directly after you spread misinformation. You quoted Chuck-D. Let me quote some other black artists who actually knew Elvis.
    “I wasn’t just a fan, I was his brother. Last time I saw Elvis alive was at Graceland. We sang ‘Old Blind Barnabus’ together, a gospel song. I love him and hope to see him in heaven. There’ll never be another like that soul brother.” – James Brown.
    “Elvis was an integrator. Elvis was a blessing. They wouldn’t let Black music through. He opened the door for Black music.” – Little Richard.
    The only reason people believe he was racist was because someone had heard him say some horrible things about black people in boston. Yet at the time of the alledged quote Elvis had never even been to Boston.

    • Thanks for the taking the time out to comment. My only view is that Elvis, (in my opinion) never made an attempt to pay homage to black music or black people for that matter. He never had a black face in any of his movies and with a man of that caliber, he could have easily requested diversity. What James Brown or Little Richard said was heartwarming but that doesn’t however sway my opinion. There are many racist whites that make exceptions for black people who they feel that they might be somewhere on their level. Like the racists that say, “I have black friends” just because they may work with someone black or their butler is black but they are never invited over for dinner.

      Either way I’m just glad that my post sparked conversation. Thank you for your time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

